Kansas City Stealing/Burglary Defense Attorney
Fill out the form below for a free consultation.
Stealing/Burglary Charges in Missouri
Stealing comes in more forms than just stolen goods. Roberts Law Office represents clients that have been accused of many different forms of thievery, including:
- Receiving or possessing stolen property
- Identity theft
- Tampering with a motor vehicle
- Wire fraud
- Welfare fraud
If you have been accused of any of the above, then fill out our form at the bottom of the page for a free consultation.
Call us now: 1-816-381-9380
Theft Charges in Missouri
In Missouri, a person commits theft if they appropriate (or take) something from another party for the purpose of depriving them of it without their permission or through deceit or coercion. This could include shoplifting from a grocery store, stealing someone’s car, identity theft, etc.
Is it a felony?
Stealing crimes may be classified as a misdemeanor or felony based on the value of what is stolen, or based on the type of item stolen. You may also be subject to enhanced punishment if you have prior convictions for stealing or other offenses.
What is Identity Theft?
Identity theft occurs when someone gets or has someone else’s means of identification and does so with the intent to deceive or defraud. If the perpetrator steals more than $750 using their stolen identity, then they have committed a felony and will need a good identity theft lawyer. Roberts Law Office has years of experience helping clients accused of all manner of stealing offenses.
Tampering with a Motor Vehicle Charges in Missouri
If a person knowingly receives, sells, operates, or in any way alters a motor-powered vehicle without the owner’s consent, then they are tampering with a motor vehicle. Tampering with a vehicle in the first degree—the most common type of vehicle theft charge in Missouri—is normally a class D felony in Missouri, whereas tampering in the second degree is normally a class A misdemeanor.
Missouri Property Damage Charges
Property Damage is a charge that is filed when one person knowingly causes damage to property owned by another person. While second degree property damage is a misdemeanor, first degree property damage is a felony and can expose a defendant to several years in prison. If you or someone you know is charged with property damage, please contact us today.
Burglary Charges in Missouri
A person is guilty of burglary if they unlawfully enter a building or inhabitable structure for the purpose of committing a crime there. Missouri burglaries come in 2 degrees: 2nd degree burglary and 1st degree burglary. Both degrees of burglary are felonies and come with the potential for a lengthy prison sentence, so if you are accused then you’ll need an experienced burglary defense lawyer.
2nd Degree Burglary
2nd degree burglary is the generic form of burglary and is the general charge when a person enters a building unlawfully or remains in a building unlawfully to commit a crime. 2nd degree burglary is a class D felony and is punishable by up to 7 years in prison and $10,000 in fines (or double whatever financial gain the perpetrator made from the burglary).
1st Degree Burglary
If a person commits a burglary while they are armed with a deadly weapon, they cause or threaten injury to someone, or there is someone in the building that is not participating in the crime (EVEN IF the perpetrator does not know that they are there), then they have committed a 1st degree burglary. 1st degree burglary is a class B felony that carries with it a potential prison sentence of as little as 5 years and a maximum prison sentence of 15 years.
Robbery Charges in Missouri
Robbery is a serious charge in Missouri because it is an inherently violent act. Robbery is defined as “the taking of property from another person, by violence or intimidation, with the intent to permanently deprive the owner of their property.” Robbery comes in 2 degrees: 1st degree robbery and 2nd degree robbery. Both degrees are felonies; however, 2nd degree robberies carry much lighter sentences than 1st degree robberies.
1st Degree Robbery
If a person commits a robbery and, during the robbery, they:
- Cause serious injury or harm to another person,
- Are armed with a deadly weapon,
- Use or threaten the immediate use of a deadly weapon against any person,
- Display or threaten the use of what appears to be a deadly weapon or instrument, or
- Steal any controlled substance from a pharmacy.
Then they have committed a 1st degree robbery. Robbery in the first degree is a class A felony with a potential prison sentence of at least 10 years in prison and up to life in prison.
2nd Degree Robbery
All other robberies are 2nd degree robberies. Robberies in the second degree are class B felonies with a range of punishment of 5 to 15 years in prison.
Passing a Bad Check
A person has committed check fraud if they:
- Knowingly make, issue, or pass a check knowing that it will not be paid by the drawee or that there is no such drawee.
- Knowingly make, issue, or pass a check knowing that there are insufficient funds in their account or that there is no such account, and fail to pay the check within 10 days of receiving actual (written) notice of the check bouncing.
Check fraud is a misdemeanor if the value of the check is less than $750. It is a felony if the value of the check is more than $750 or if the check is drawn or a closed or fake account. Misdemeanor check fraud charges include a potential for up to 1 year in jail and $2,000 in fines. Class E felony check fraud charges have a potential for up to 4 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.